Sometimes it's good to get off cloud nine and eat a slice of humble pie.
---
It goes without saying that I'm unbelievably excited for "The Last Airbender" to premiere tomorrow at midnight. But, as per the norm, movie adaptations of already popular shows tend to receive lukewarm to cold reviews from fans and non fans alike. With this in mind, I will be writing a list of all the reasons this film may be bad.
Within the past few weeks, I've grown more and more excited with the release of new TV spots, interviews and press photos. All of this has made my excitement meter sky rocket off the charts. I'm to the point where if I even get talking about it I become highly restless and borderline Foamy.
This list will help me preserve my shadow of doubt about this movie, and will help me keep my heart from getting broken if it's awful. Here's to hoping!
---
1. Racebending. Deep down, I really would not mind if Katara and Sokka were tanned like they were in the cartoon, and if the rest of the cast maintained the originally cultural implications designated by the cartoon.
2. Noah Ringer as Aang. Yeah, he's a karate champion but that doesn't mean he can act. I'm sure he got coaching, but frankly, leaving an inexperienced kid to carry the weight of an action film is a bit risky.
3. M. Night Shymalan's bad rep. For someone that puts out as many good movies as he does bad, I'm not sure if he can handle the epic awesome greatness that is this franchise. I've always had hope, but I don't know. He might fail. Especially since he's never really directed an action film before.
4. The length. This movie is barely under two hours. There's so much story in the first season of Avatar, since it main serves as an exposition to the plot. How can that much story be told in such a short span? This movie could easily be two and a half hours and still not have everything important covered.
5. New name pronunciations. Who is they Ee-roh? And who are you calling Soh-kuh? And what about Ahng? What's that? Ahng is the Ahvahtar? Weird!
6. Dev Patel as Zuko. Yeah, he's got the acting chops but I wanted my Zuko to be a lot more sexy!
7. Iroh's lack of fat. I miss my robust, sagely Uncle Iroh. And what's with the dread locks?
8. Seeing Ozai's face so quick in the game. He's THE bad guy! We're not even supposed to see most of Ozai-Mania until the third season (AKA the third movie).
9. No Koh. How disappointing. A live action Koh would've been the coolest thing ever. CGI and over the top face stealer? I'm there! Unfortunately, he will not be making an appearance.
10. No Chief Arnook. Apparently, Yue can run the tribe all by her white haired self.
--
Well, that's about it. And some of those reasons I had to really stretch on because they're some changes I'm looking forward to and/or interested in seeing them pulled off.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment